

Kansas City

414 E. 12th Street Kansas City, MO 64106

Legislation Text

File #: 220203, Version: 2

RESOLUTION NO. 220203

Recognizing the speakers who participated in the 1st annual ASSET (African Americans Support Success and Encouragement Team) Black History Program from January 13, 2022 until March 1, 2022.

WHEREAS, we are honoring Glenn North, Lavon Boyd, Dr. Jason Glenn, Estelle Brooks, Jamal Shakur, Councilwoman Melissa Robinson, and Dr. Anne Lambert Johnson for taking the time out of their extremely busy schedules in observance of Black History Month to offer professional employee development services increasing and enriching the knowledge base of all participants, ASSET members, observers, as well as community members on their respective expertise and subject matter areas; and

WHEREAS, ASSET black history period was created to foster a dialogue of truth for the purpose of cultivating an ethical multicultural diverse workplace; to promote a cohesive and equitable environment through consciousness by educating and informing all attendees about black history and by using the Black History month theme, Black Health and Wellness.

WHEREAS, there were a range of subject experts: Glenn North, a published Kansas City spoken word Poet; Lavon Boyd, an experienced mental health expert; Dr. Jason Glenn, a professor of Health and History from the University of Kansas; Estelle Brooks, a local fitness expert; Jamal Shakur, an experienced community health worker; Councilwoman Melissa Robinson, a triumphant leader in the Healthcare community; and Dr. Anne Lambert Johnson, a pioneer in the Kansas City dentistry as an African American. NOW, THEREFORE,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COUNCIL OF KANSAS CITY:

That the Mayor and Council hereby recognize the speakers who participated in the 1st annual ASSET (African Americans Support Success and Encouragement Team) Black History Program from January 13, 2022 until March 1, 2022; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that this Resolution be spread upon the Minutes of the Council in testimony thereof and that a copy hereof be presented to Glenn North, Lavon Boyd, Dr. Jason Glenn, Estelle Brooks, Jamal Shakur, Councilwoman Melissa Robinson, and Dr. Anne Lambert Johnson with the appreciation of the Mayor and Council for their dedication and giving of their time to this endeavor.